Waiting For ET: Worse Than The 2WW?

I started this blog last Sunday, in the throes of anxiety between egg retrieval and embryo transfer for my first IVF cycle. Since then, I’ve been trying to describe our infertility struggles from the beginning of the story. But for today’s post, we have to fast forward to the present time, because I just went through the embryo transfer yesterday! I promise we’ll get back to chronological order after this (can’t skip posts on the stim injections, trigger shots, and egg retrieval, after all), but I want to tell you about yesterday’s experience while it was still fresh (there’s a joke in here somewhere…) in my mind.

I was scheduled to have the embryo transfer 5 days after my egg retrieval last Thursday. The five days between egg retrieval and embryo transfer were quite possible the most anxiety-ridden days of this whole treatment process. Some people say that the 2WW with IVF cycles is not as bad, because it’s only ~10 days in reality, but they aren’t counting those 5 days before the transfer! The 5DW should be a thing.

Here’s how they went for me:

On Friday, the embryologist called to let me know that out of 10 retrieved eggs, 8 of them fertilized normally. I thought this was great news! On Saturday and Sunday, I drowned in anxiety, apprehension, and the gut-wrenching fear of the unknown. How were the 8 fertilized eggs doing doing? Would we have any embryos at all to transfer? Would they call us right away with bad news? On Monday, the nurse called to confirm my 9:30 appointment on Tuesday for the embryo transfer. I asked her if she had an updated status on the embryos, but she didn’t… she explained that they still had to develop a full day before they were able to evaluate them for transfer. This made sense, but didn’t help my anxiety. Was there one viable embryo? Were there more? The nurse simply reminded me to drink a ton of water, arrive with a full bladder, and take Xanax and ibuprofen in the morning as prescribed.

The night before the embryo transfer felt a little like Christmas Eve. I was rife with anticipation and thought I’d never be able to get to sleep. I’ve been having problems sleeping in general. I assume it’s from the stress of infertility treatment, but work takes its toll, too. I’ve also been waking up a lot in the middle of the night to use the bathroom. (Thanks, progesterone.) But the next morning, I woke up feeling surprisingly well-rested. In equal parts fear and excitement, I got ready for transfer day at ACRM.

Leave a Reply

