Our New Best Friend, the RE

I remember being so nervous for that first phone call to ACRM, our fertility clinic. Driving in the car on the way to work, I stuttered over my explanation of my reason for calling (trying to get pregnant… nothing happening… help) and was pleasantly surprised when they scheduled my first consult for later in the week with Dr. Robin Fogle, a reproductive endocrinologist (RE) at the practice. Before the appointment, the office had us download and fill out a bunch of entry paperwork, including our individual and combined medical history and insurance documentation. I also had to call my regular doc to send in paperwork on previous tests, including the HSG (dye test) results and semen analysis (I told you we were going to get into the details!).

Insurance sidebar: We were lucky enough to have insurance cover a significant portion of our infertility treatment (there’s a lifetime cap amount). I hope to do a post someday breaking down the costs we entailed throughout this process, including with IUI, IVF, and meds. I’ll need Joe for that one – he really took care of all the financial details so that I could focus on staying calm throughout our treatments. I was extremely thankful.

Back to the story. We got to the office (Perimeter location, for Atlanta-based readers). I had some more forms to fill out while waiting, then our names were called. Dr. Fogle herself greeted us at the door. She was nice as could be, and led us to her spacious office with a beautiful view of the surrounding scenery. We talked through medical history, she asked a few questions along the way, then we got down to the business of infertility. Dr. Fogle described the physical and chemical details of a regular cycle, and then pointed out the areas where we could run into issues: Egg quality. Ovulation. Physical blockage. Male Factors. And so on. She reminded us again that all tests had come back just fine… so at the moment, our infertility was unexplained. Or as she put it, “You’re unexplained.” Then, we moved on to treatment possibilities: Clomid. IUI. IVF. Chances of success by age group. (Since we’re in the youngest bracket, time is on our side.) All the while, she sketched the information she was telling us on a plain piece of paper, to illustrate the points. As a lifelong doodler myself, I mentally gave her bonus points for the visuals.

At the end of the conversation, we discussed immediate next steps: more Clomid, or direct to IUI. We decided to go home and think it through, rather than make a decision on the spot. It just so happened that we were there on a convenient cycle day for some bloodwork, so after saying our goodbyes and thanks to Dr. Fogle, I was shuffled off to The Blood Room (as I call it in my head), for a quick draw.

I liked Dr. Fogle right away. She was warm, friendly, completely sympathetic, but also straightforward with the details of our treatment options and chances. She made me feel comfortable. Her doodles felt like a map to somewhere hopeful. I didn’t feel like crying. I felt like everything was going to be ok.

We went home, and pretty quickly decided to jump into the IUI process. Dun-dun-dun!!!

Leave a Reply

