IUIUIUI: Turkey Baster Time

IUI stands for intra-uterine insemination. I had literally never heard of this word before my ob-gyn brought it up, somewhere in the Clomid months. I didn’t know there was a step (multiple steps) in between “can’t get pregnant” and IVF. But! I was glad to hear of this seemingly low-key treatment option. So we agreed to start with IUI right away under the watchful eye of Dr. Fogle and the wonderful nurses at ACRM.

How IUI works: well, the specific protocol probably differs person to person, but at my clinic, here’s how it generally worked on each of my 3 cycles.

Cycle Day 1: On the first full flow day of my period, I was to call the office and let them know that it had started. They would then schedule my Day 3 ultrasound and bloodwork to start the treatment cycle.

Cycle Day 3: Ultrasound and bloodwork. The vaginal ultrasound (via dildo-cam, as others have called it) is really not a big deal. It didn’t hurt me personally. The doc goes in and checks out the uterus and ovaries to make sure that everything looks good to start. Bloodwork checks estrogen and progesterone levels to make sure all levels also look good.

Cycle Day 5-9: Clomid, my old friend.

Cycle Day 11-ish: This is the mid-cycle check up, pre-trigger and ovulation. Same deal as Cycle Day 3, ultrasound and bloodwork. The doc checks to make sure that everything in the uterus and ovaries still looks good, and that the follicles are growing as desired. Depending on how the follicles are doing, the doc prescribes the medication to trigger ovulation.

Cycle Day 13: Trigger time! It’s an HCG shot given by a nurse in the office. Funny – I remember thinking, there’s no way they expect ME to mix this up myself?! I clearly did not know the IVF drill yet.

Cycle Day 14: IUI day! Joe’s appointment to produce a ~*sample*~ happens early in the morning. The lab washes the semen, distills the most qualified sperm, and then gets it ready for the short catheter trip directly into my uterus. Then I’d come in and the doc would insert the swimmers up the chute, hoping that more sperm in the uterus = a better chance of fertilization. I’d lay still on the bed for 5 minutes, then I would be able to continue my day as usual.

SEE? JUST LIKE SEX!

No. But hey, SCIENCE! What a time to be alive.

 

Leave a Reply

